Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

More time in Oz

Posted by Monica Johansen on June 27, 2010

I am back in Australia for a couple of weeks. This week and half of the next I am working in Melbourne, and the end of next week I will spend a few days in Sydney. I have taken a couple of days off from work to have a chance to see my friends and just enjoy life as a tourist in Sydney, and I am looking very much forward to a short break from work.

Bourke Street in Melbourne

It is getting really cold in Melbourne now, and it has been raining quite a bit over the last few days. Fortunately, I was prepared, so I am doing just fine. Although it is a little bit uncomfortable wearing so heavy clothing every time I want to go outside. People keep telling me that as a Norwegian I should be use to it, but I am not. I am in fact completely acclimatized to the hot and humid weather in Southeast Asia.

It is Sunday evening already, and the weekend has been really good. I have had a look in the city, and I discovered that there is an Oxfam shop in one of the shopping arcades in Bourke Street. Oxfam is an international confederation of aid organizations working together, and Oxfam Australia runs a number of shops selling artifacts produced in third world countries. A significant part of the profit goes back to the local communities, so when you buy something from the shop you support the organization and the aid work they do to help people in third world countries.

The Oxfam shop has some really beautiful products, including jewelry, textiles, ceramics, wood work, and decorative art. I ended up buying some beautiful items from India, and since they were too large to store in my luggage I walked over to Australia Post and mailed them back to Singapore. I can’t wait to pick them up when I get home in a week’s time.

Tomorrow start a new working week, and I am looking forward to another few days working with the fun Aussies.

Leave a Reply

 
