Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

Short visit to Sydney

Posted by Monica Johansen on April 11, 2010

I am working in Melbourne for a couple of weeks, and since it was hard to find available flights directly from Singapore to Melbourne I took the opportunity to fly via Sydney and visit some of my dear friends. I didn’t have much time in my old home town, only around 30 hours, but it was enough time to bring back some good memories.

I took the overnight flight from Singapore on Friday night and arrived in Sydney early Saturday morning. The crew had problems getting the baggage out of the plane, so I was stuck at the airport for around 45 minutes just waiting for the luggage, and when my bag finally arrived I had to wait in line for another 20 minutes to get through the quarantine. Sometimes it can be a real hassle to arrive in Australia from overseas.

Darling Harbour

Anyway, my good friend Arvie picked me up at the airport, and we were back at his place around 8:30 AM. He and his wife had kindly offered me to stay at their place during my visit, not only so that I would save the hotel money but also so that we could spend more time together. I don’t sleep much on planes, so after saying hello to Arvie’s beautiful wife and daughter and chat for a little while I was starting to feel the lack of sleep and I decided to have a nap before I was in any condition to go out and enjoy the nice Sydney weather. Around noon we were all ready to go out and have a look in the city, and we started the day at Darling Harbour, which is only 5-10 minutes walk from where I used to live and a place I feel very much at home. We ended up visiting some of my favorite jewelry shops in the city where I bought some nice silver jewelry. I have a thing for silver, and although I probably have more than enough of it I tend to buy if I find something I really like.

In the evening we had dinner at one of my absolute favorite eating places in Sydney, a Thai restaurant called I Thai. I love Thai food, and the food in I Thai is in my opinion just as good as any authentic restaurant in Bangkok. I think we all ate too much, so we were quite sleepy when we got back at their house at night. Around 10 PM I realized that I hadn’t checked my email for well over 24 hours, which must be some sort of a record in my world. Hence, I had a quick look at what was going on in the cyber world before I went to bed.

Today we went to a relatively new shopping area outside of Sydney. I can’t remember the name, but the place consisted of a small network of streets with shops facing the street rather than being inside a huge mall. We didn’t have so much time since my flight to Melbourne was departing at 5 PM, but it was nice to spend some time in the sun and just walk around and have a look at people and the stuff they sold there and then find a nice place to sit down and have a mango smoothie. šŸ™‚

Arvie and his family dropped me off at the airport at 3:30 PM, and after a delayed landing and a long wait to get my luggage (they are so much more efficient at the airport in Singapore) I am now in my hotel in Melbourne and preparing for a couple of weeks on customer site. It has been a while since the last time I was here, and – as the last time – I had forgotten all about how cold it can get in this city. I actually thought I brought enough clothes with me, but after trying to go for a walk tonight I am worried that I might have underestimated the weather.

Well, it is a good thing that Melbourne is great for shopping. I think I need to buy a warm sweater to wear in the morning on my way to work.

Leave a Reply

 
