Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

Back in Sydney

Posted by Monica Johansen on November 28, 2009

I have just retuned to Singapore after a short visit to my old home town Sydney. About 12 months have passed since the last time I placed my feet in the Emerald City, and since I had to enter Australia in order to initialize my permanent residence visa I thought it was a good opportunity to fly down and catch up with some old friends. Unfortunately, I only had three days paid time off left, so I had to combine it with a public holiday in Singapore, but it so happened that Friday this week was Hari Raya Haji. Hence, I flew down on Monday night and arrived in Sydney on Tuesday morning.

The Sydney Opera House

When I arrived in Sydney the weather was rather chilly, at least compared to the 32 degrees I am used to every day. However, my friends told me that it had been up to 40 degrees just a couple of days earlier, and during the few days I was there the temperatures increased again and reached around 35. It still didn’t feel very hot though, because the humidity is nothing like in Southeast Asia, so despite the heat it is possible to breathe. But I had already forgotten how quickly the weather can change in Sydney, and for someone who is used to the same temperatures pretty much every single day all year around (like in Singapore) it was quite surprising.

It was very nice to see my friends again. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to meet everyone, but I managed to complete the most important task, i.e. get my permanent residency visa stamped in my passport. So now I can come and go as I please for the next 5 years. I was originally planning to move back to Sydney some time before the end of this year, but the situation has changed slightly, and currently I have no plans moving back in the near future. However, nothing is set in stone, and I might be back before anyone knows it.

Over the last three years I have been in Sydney in November and taken photos of the fireworks at the Sydney Opera House after the Australian Idol finale. This time I arrived two days late, so I missed out on the fireworks, but I still had a very nice time. It is fun to take photos of fireworks, and I know there is a new opportunity coming up soon here in Singapore at New Years Eve.

Now I am back in hot and humid Singapore, and it is actually good to be home even though the weekend has been a bit reduced due to loads of urgent work. It is nice to not live in a bag all the time, and it is in fact very true what they say; “There is no place like home…” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
