Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

What I love about Indonesia

Posted by Monica Johansen on November 19, 2009

I am back in Jakarta for the forth week in a row, and as usual I am quite enjoying it here. I am always very busy when I am in Jakarta, but despite heavy work load I seem to relax more here than back home in Singapore. I am not quite sure why I always feel less stressed here, but my guess is that the lovely people make me lower my shoulders and take time to breathe between the battles.

Jakarta

Unfortunately, Jakarta has been the target for several terrorist attacks lately, and because of that the security in pretty intensive. Every time you enter an office building or a hotel the security guards will search your bags and scan you for weapons and bombs, and the procedures can feel a bit over the top sometimes. But one of the great things about Jakarta is that the security guards are always extremely friendly and they will smile and remember you name. Knowing how many people they are checking every day I actually think it is quite impressive that they remember me. I suppose that being a white female I will kind of stick out a bit since there are not that many of us here, and it will make it easier for them to remember me, but still I am quite surprised every time they remember my name.

Indonesia is in many ways a magic country. They have all kinds of nature here, such as mountains, beaches, beautiful islands, jungle, desert and so on. I am planning to explore the country a little more in 2010, especially Sumatra where I haven’t been yet. I also realize that almost everyone I know in this region has been to Bali, so I guess it is time to take a trip there too some time soon.

I would love to write more about what I love about Indonesia, but it is getting late and I have a busy day tomorrow on customer site. So instead I will simply refer to the link below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ehHCXuxes8

If you still don’t see what is so great about Indonesia I suggest that you come over and take a look yourself. 🙂

2 Responses to “What I love about Indonesia”

  1. I love what your in to becaue I believe travelling is the best experience… I may sound weird but may I know the nature of your job? Sorry he he he. . .

Leave a Reply

 
