Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

Finally a little bit of luck

Posted by Monica Johansen on September 27, 2009

I left Manila on Friday night and went back home to Singapore for the weekend. Just hours later the Philippines were hit by a typhoon that completely flooded Manila and surrounding regions, and that also killed lots of people. It actually started raining when I was on my way to the airport after work, and apparently it didn’t stop for quite some time. Within six hours an amount of water equivalent to one month rainfall fell down causing large damage to buildings and cutting off power supply.

I read about the typhoon this morning, and I can’t believe how lucky I was to get out of Manila in time. During the storm the airport had to close and lots of people were trapped by the water. It could have been me stuck at the airport with water to my knees. Both an earthquake and a typhoon within one month would have been really bad luck…

Hopefully I won’t be haunted by any more natural disasters in the near future…

For those of you who haven’t heard about the typhoon, you can read about it here: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8276347.stm

Leave a Reply

 
