Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

Back in Kuala Lumpur

Posted by Monica Johansen on September 8, 2009

This week I am working a few days in Kuala Lumpur, and it has been a while now since the last time I was here. I am staying at Le Meridien at KL Central, as usual, and I still recognize a lot of the people working here. I also saw my favorite concierge this afternoon when I came back from the office, and he recognized me right away and came over to say hello. He is one of these people who make you feel really welcome, and I was happy to find out that he is still around.

Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur

Currently, we are in the middle of the Muslim holiday Ramadan, which is the Islamic month of fasting. Life in Muslim countries such as Malaysia and Indonesia changes a bit during this month, since the majority of the population, which are Muslim, will change their daily routines. For instance, the food courts and office canteens are almost empty since most people won’t eat lunch. In addition, people come into the office earlier than usual in order to be able to leave earlier in the afternoon and get back home and prepare for the evening’s meal with the family.

I have discovered that having dinner in the hotel restaurant can be a bit stressful during Ramadan since a lot of people will go out for dinner to celebrate. It is almost impossible to get a table, and if you are lucky enough to find a vacant seat you will have to stand in line to get to the food in the buffet. The whole thing is a bit stressful, so most of the time I skip dinner and just grab something simple on the way back to the hotel to avoid the crowds in this period.

Tomorrow evening I will be flying back to Singapore, and I must admit that I am looking forward to getting home. It is a bit funny actually, but when I am home I always want to get back on the road, but while on the road I always miss my home. As an American friend on mine once pointed out to me, it is not about where I am, it is about where I am not… 🙂

One Response to “Back in Kuala Lumpur”

  1. Arvie said

    It’s the journey that’s interesting … and you’ve clocked up quiet a few already

Leave a Reply

 
