Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

End of Journey

Posted by Monica Johansen on January 3, 2009

I have now returned to Geraldton after a few days up in Monkey Mia (Shark Bay) and Coral Bay. Monkey Mia was absolutely stunning. The sunset was beautiful, and we saw lots of pelicans, cormorants and other bird species, but the dolphin feeding early in the morning was definitely the highlight of the trip.

The beach at Monkey Mia

The beach at Monkey Mia

Monkey Mia is a well known tourist spot in Western Australia, but Coral Bay is a getaway used primarily by the locals. The Aussies love the beach life, and in Coral Bay there are several water activities available, such as diving, snorkeling, sea kayaking, etc. In Coral Bay the coral reef is very close to shore, so you don’t have to swim far in order to see fantastic underwater wildlife. A good way to see the coral reef is to jump on one of the glass bottom boats which will take you for a cruise in the bay so you can see the reef without going into the water.

Since I didn’t have an underwater camera I went on one of the boats to take some photos through the glass, but I realized that you can never get the same great photos as when you are in the water and you can swim around as you please. The next time I come here I will definitely buy an underwater camera.

Today Shane and I are heading back to Perth, and both of us are flying back to our respective homes this evening, he to Sydney and I to Singapore. It has been an awesome holiday, and I must admit that I am not looking forward to going back to work.

However, it is a new year and new opportunities are at my doorstep… 😀

You will find the last photos from the trip here: http://monicaaj71.vndv.com/20081231/index.html

One Response to “End of Journey”

  1. Nina said

    Høres ut som en fantastisk plass! Godt Nytt År Monica 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
