Putanga – Life on the Road

Stories from my journeys around the world…

A few days in Melbourne

Posted by Monica Johansen on November 22, 2008

I have just been a few days in Melbourne in Australia for work. I have been there a few times before, and apart from the climate it is a very nice place to be. In general, Melbourne has a more European feeling to it than Sydney, and there is a relatively large population of Italians and Greeks in the city, which is quite evident as you walk down many of the restaurant areas. There are definitely enough Italian and Greek restaurants to choose from.

Yarra River in Melbourne

Yarra River in Melbourne

I knew that Melbourne would be colder than Singapore, but I was not really prepared for how cold it was there. I was only there for three days, but it was raining most of the time, and probably not more than 15 degrees. I didn’t figure out the heater in my hotel room the first night, so when I woke up in the morning I hardly managed to get into the shower because I was so cold. I haven’t needed any heater since I was in Melbourne in April this year, and it was an unusual feeling having to wear a sweater indoors.

I don’t have many friends in Melbourne, but I know a few people there. However, I was quite busy with customer work, and since I was only there for three days I only had time to catch up with one of my friends, Sean, who used to work for one of my company’s partners. Nevertheless, I had a really nice evening with Sean, and it was awesome to spend an evening out in one of Australia’s main cities.

The customers I worked for were great, and I quite enjoyed being back in a westernized country. Of course, customers in South East Asia are nice too, but since they are Asians I don’t tend to find the same good connection with those guys while working onsite. Working in Australia, on the other hand, is more similar to working in Europe, and I find it very social and easy to communicate with the customers there.

The only thing that really annoyed me in Melbourne was that the internet in my hotel was down the entire time. According to the hotel receptionist the connection had been down since the week before, and I am quite shocked that Telstra hadn’t been able to fix the problem within a day or two. I am pretty confident that if a similar thing had happened in Singapore someone would have been fired, but I suppose you can’t get it all. After all, it is Australia, and the Aussies are known for their laid back approach to life.

2 Responses to “A few days in Melbourne”

  1. Nina said

    Hjelpes – du har virkelig blitt aklimatisert 🙂

  2. putanga said

    Hehe… Jepp… 😀

Leave a Reply

 
